Dairy Dos and Don’ts at Purim
- Share via
Every year, the Food section publishes Purim recipes by Judy Zeidler, your “30 Minute Kosher Cooking” expert (“The Sweetest Day,” March 4). And every year I cringe as I read the dairy ingredients.
Butter, milk and ice cream are all kosher by nature but are not recommended for Purim, a Jewish holiday celebrated by exchanges of food and a festive meal. Because kosher food laws require Jews to wait six hours after eating meat products before eating milk-laden recipes, Zeidler’s desserts are problematic as gifts and within the festive meal.
The Purim meal is traditionally highlighted with a nice meat dish, making it nearly impossible to enjoy a dairy hamentaschen at the same sitting. And giving the pastries as gifts is not a good idea because the assumption is that such a dessert is nondairy so that it may be eaten at a meat meal and, thus, what will inevitably happen is that someone will end up eating it within the six-hour period, not realizing that the hamentaschen is actually dairy.
RABBI HERSHEL REMER
Former senior field supervisor
Western U.S. Kashrus Division
Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America
Los Angeles